New Cabinet SWORN in Canada

Justin Trudeau, Leader of the Liberal Party of Canada who lost the majority has made success to form the government. He unveiled his new cabinet today, November 20, 2019, one month after elections. Mr. Trudeau‘s Liberals have only 157 seats, short of the 170 needed for a majority, meaning the Prime Minister will have to find common ground with other parties to move his agenda forward.

The most interesting position change is Chrystia Freeland, who becomes the Deputy Prime Minister and minister of intergovernmental affairs. Chrystia Freeland served as the Ministers of International Trade and Foreign affairs before being promoted to the second highest post in the government. In the alphabetical order, here are new cabinet and important positions in the government. There are few new faces in the cabinet, some ministers are given new ministries and some are kept on the old positions.

  1. Ahmed Hussen becomes Minister of Families, Children and Social Development.
  2.  Anita Anand becomes Minister of Public Services and Procurement. Anand is a rookie MP and a professor in the faculty of law at the University of
  3. Bardish Chagger becomes Minister of Diversity and Inclusion and Youth, who served as the government House leader in the last Parliament.
  4. Bernadette Jordan becomes Minister of Fisheries, Oceans and the Canadian Coast Guard. She served as minister for rural economic development in the last parliament.
  5.  Bill Blair becomes Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness. He is entering into the ministerial duties left behind by Saskatchewan MP Ralph Goodale who lost his seat.
  6. Bill Morneau remains Minister of Finance.
  7. Carla Qualtrough becomes Minister of Employment, Workforce Development and Disability Inclusion. In the last government she served as the president of the treasury board and as minister of sport and persons with disabilities.
  8. Carolyn Bennett remains minister of Crown-Indigenous Relations. Bennett is one of a group of senior Liberal cabinet ministers that is returning to the same role.
  9. Catherine McKenna becomes Minister of Infrastructure and Communities. She has held minister of environment portfolio in the last government.
  10. Chrystia Freeland is now Deputy PM.
  11. Dan Vandal, former city councillor and a boxer becomes Minister of Northern Affairs.
  12. David Lametti remains Minister of Justice and Attorney general.
  13. Deb Schulte becomes Minister of Seniors.
  14. Diane Lebouthillier remains Minister of National Revenue.
  15. Dominic LeBlanc becomes President of the Queen’s Privy Council for Canada. Unfortunately he is in the battle with cancer and couldn’t join the cabinet this time. He previously served as House leader, and as the ministers for intergovernmental affairs and fisheries and oceans.
  16. Filomena Tassi becomes Minister of Labour.
  17. Francois-Philippe Champagne who held the international trade portfolio now becomes Minister of Foreign Affairs.
  18. Harjit Sajjan remains Minister of National Defence.
  19. Jean-Yves Duclos becomes President of the Treasury Board.
  20. Jonathan Wilkinson becomes Minister of Environment and Climate Change. He served as the minister of fisheries, oceans and the Canadian Coast Guard in the last Parliament.
  21. Joyce Murray becomes Minister of Digital Government.
  22. Karina Gould who was responsible for democratic institutions in the last Parliament now becomes Minister of International Development.
  23. Lawrence MacAulay remains Minister of Veterans Affairs and Associate Minister of National Defence.
  24. Marc Garneau remains Minister of Transport.
  25. Marc Miller becomes Minister of Indigenous Services.
  26. Marco Mendicino becomes Minister of Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship.
  27. Marie-Claude Bibeau remains Minister of Agriculture and Agri-food and will see her navigate ongoing food safety issues with China.
  28. Mary Ng becomes Minister of Small Business, Export Promotion and International Trade.
  29. Maryam Monsef becomes Minister for Women and Gender Equality and Rural Economic Development.
  30. Melanie Joly, former minister of heritage, minister of tourism, official languages and La Francophone now becomes Minister of Economic Development and Official Languages.
  31. Mona Fortier becomes Minister of Middle-Class Prosperity and Associate Minister of Finance. She was a spokeswoman for La Cité collégiale, a French-language college in Ontario.
  32. Navdeep Bains becomes Minister of Innovation, Science and Industry. His ministry has been restructured to include ‘industry’.
  33. Pablo Rodriguez becomes Leader of the Government in the House of Commons.
  34. Patty Hajdu becomes Minister of Health.
  35. Seamus O’Regan becomes Minister of Natural Resources. He did serve as the minister of veterans affairs and the minister of indigenous services in the last cabinet.
  36. Steven Guilbeault, an environmentalist becomes Minister of Canadian Heritage. Interestingly, excluding Prime Minister, there would be 18 male and 18 female members of the cabinet. A promise he kept in forming the last cabinet as well despite criticism to appoint the right people for the right job not on the basis of gender, religion or color. Despite the losses in Western Canada due to crude oil transportation crisis, a B.C. MP, Jonathan Wilkinson is the new minister in charge of those files. Catherine McKenna is shuffled to Infrastructure and Communities.

Historically, the minority governments last 18 months to 24 months, the opposition parties have started campaigning from the day the results came in their hands. Pundits are forecasting that 2021 would be the election year but if the Liberals solve